But It Can Be Heaven On Earth…

Posted: July 27, 2011 in Snowy Mountains

This a photograph of Bruce Easton from Wilderness Sports crossing the source of the Snowy River that made the front cover of TIME South Pacific in 2007. Bit of an achievement really as I suspect not too many Australian photographers have had their work selected for the front cover of TIME twice.

But this shot, as with the other front cover image that was published, “Australia Says Sorry’ (the story about the Australian people’s Apology to the Aboriginal people) are about things that have been dear to my heart for a very long time. Watch out for the Weekend Australian Magazine this Saturday in ‘The Heart Of The Nation’ section which features another one of my photographs of another local Snowy Mountains character. Thats the best way to shoot photographs … from the heart.

My enduring love for the Snowy Mountains has today become even stronger… when I looked out my window and saw how perfect a day it is, something like the day that this photograph was taken on and realised how incredibly blessed I have been to be able to enjoy the benefits of the area. How healthy and magnificent is this life style.

But life, like the mountains gives and it takes away and today I am deeply saddened by the passing of one of my friends on the weekend from cancer. Its tragic as she leaves behind a six year old child whom she dearly, dearly loved. All I can do is look at those beautiful white peaks and pray that heaven is a place like this one.

So to you Jules… I hope that everyday from now on is a day like today for you… Goodbye my friend… You are always in my heart…

Leave a Reply

